The Tobolsk Kremlin is the only stone kremlin in Siberia and the most recent Kremlin built in Russia. Before the stone Kremlin, there were eight wooden Kremlins in Tobolsk, which were destroyed due to numerous city fires. On May 9, 1700, according to the project of S.U. Remezov, the construction of the first secular building of the Kremlin, the Writ Chamber, began. It was followed by the Gostiny Dvor, walls and towers, the greenhouse and the Ascension Church.
In the second half of the XVIII century, the Kremlin lost the importance of a fortress and served as a place where taxes were kept, an archive, spiritual and secular administrations were located. By the beginning of the twentieth century, almost the entire line of fortress walls was missing – there were posts and a picket fence between them.
In 1952, the Moscow Central Art Research and Restoration Workshops became interested in the rich history of the Siberian city and the Kremlin. The results were disappointing. Since 1956, for 16 years, the reconstruction of the Tobolsk Kremlin has been under the direction of restoration engineer F.G. Dubrovin.
In 1961, the Tobolsk Historical and Architectural Museum-Reserve was created on the basis of the museum's collections, objects of the Tobolsk Kremlin and architectural and historical monuments of the city.
In 1968 Tobolsk was included in the All-Union Tourist Route.
In 1969, two scientific and practical conferences devoted to the study and protection of monuments were held. Participants of the forums noted that Tobolsk can be turned into the same "golden bottom" as Suzdal has become.
In his report, Academician A.P. Okladnikov said: "The former capital of Siberia, covered with the traditions of Russian antiquity, Tobolsk, with its white-stone Kremlin, with the wonderful stone ligature of architectural patterns of cathedrals, with its wonderful archive is a genuine pearl of Siberian culture."